addiction · recovery

My First Post

15181683_10154123577603683_7691778392441134458_n

Hello and welcome to my first post. For this entry I’ve decided to write a little background information about myself. First off, my name is Jessica and I am 25 years old. I currently live in the frozen tundra of Green Bay, Wisconsin. I live alone with my kitty companion, Pip. Some of my hobbies and interests include reading, artistic and crafting pursuits, playing video games, cooking and baking, and I am planning on expanding my hobbies and interests as I go through my recovery journey. I have recently just come to terms that I am an addict, and have been for about 7 years now. They say the first step is acknowledging your addiction and the second step is receiving help. I am now on the second step on my journey. I just recently started seeing an individual therapist. After two sessions she made the requirement that I need to enroll in a support and treatment program for my addiction. I chose a program that caters to women only, however, I’m still on the waiting list. I have to call the program every week to make sure I am still on the list. I sometimes feel like I’m in some sort of a limbo. I want to start my group therapy as soon as possible and attack my addiction head on. I’ve been doing well staying sober lately with the support of my family, self-control, and staying away from my triggers. If you are reading this, I would like to know, where you are in your recovery journey? Are you just now realizing that you have an addiction? Are you attending some sort of individualized therapy, group therapy, or AA/NA? I would love to hear from you and I do respond to my comments. Thank you for taking the time to read my post and have a wonderful evening!

2 thoughts on “My First Post

  1. All the best to you in your recovery. I’ve been sober four years now after a lifetime of drinking. These have been great years. I strongly believe in the value of programs like AA. The camaraderie goes a long way to protect from relapse.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for your comment and congratulations on four years of sobriety! I have been sober for a week now. I can’t wait to get in my group therapy. The intake councilor was telling me how people form friendships in group therapy which would honestly be great for me. I’m in the process of backing away from my once friend group due to them all having addictions. I used to hang out with them while they drank and did drugs and many times found myself unable to resist. Then there were times when I was able to resist but felt as though I have nothing in common with them anymore. It really amazes me how many realizations I’ve had so far in my recovery.

      Like

Leave a Reply

