addiction · recovery · Uncategorized

Taking A Risk

Good morning everyone! I am up very early today because I was unable to sleep last night again. My sleep schedule is extremely messed up right now. However, I started my day with a nice shower with plans to go to my parent’s place and spend the day with them. I get to spend time with Dad by going Christmas present shopping and also by going to the grocery store with him to get what we need for Christmas dinner. I’m also excited to ice and decorate the sugar cookies I made yesterday with Mom and Grandma. So enough of those plans for the day, I actually wanted to talk about Alcoholics Anonymous. Another blogger recently commented on one of my posts about how he has been sober for 4 years and noted that he went to AA. I have never been to AA before but I think it may be a good idea as I am still waiting to hear back from the women’s recovery group. The place they are holding the meeting at this morning is only a 5 min drive away from my apartment and it starts at 9:30 AM, so I’m going to take a chance and attend. Dad says the latest I can show up to their place is noon so I’m going to take a little detour to my first AA meeting. I don’t know what to expect, however I do know with the rules of confidentiality I do not know how much I am allowed to speak about my experience. I suppose I shall see. I’m pretty nervous and I’m sure I’ll write another post later describing what I can about my first meeting. Thank you for reading and wish me luck!

 

Leave a Reply

