addiction · recovery · Uncategorized

It’s Been A While

I haven’t posted in several days, I guess I’ll blame it on the busyness of the holidays. In my last post I talked about taking a risk and going to a local AA meeting. I ended up not going because I was so tired from staying up all night. I know it may seem like an excuse but I want to be awake and attentive my first time going. Tomorrow I don’t have any plans so I’m going to make an attempt to go to one of the meetings. This community center has different groups that meet from 6 am to 10 pm so I figure it would be a great start to get up and go to one of these meetings. At first I was set on going to a women’s recovery group but their are a lot of cons. Mainly the location and frequency of these meetings. I don’t have a vehicle and although my parents are eager to help me get there I feel like it’s too much to put on them being that these meetings happen 3 times a week for 9 months to a year of treatment. At least this community center is only about a 25 minute walk away but I do have just one concern. While I was reading their website I noticed that the 12-step program seems a little bit Christian-based. Don’t get me wrong I love and respect people of all different faiths, I’m just hoping that I’ll be accepted too being that I am a Buddhist. But I’ll never know for sure unless I try and that is exactly what I intend on doing tomorrow! I’m really excited. I really don’t know what to expect because I’ve never been in one of these groups. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

